How to Gradball

With my university graduation ball almost 2 weeks ago I thought I’d do a little post on “how to grad ball”. We all know gradball is the one night when every individual on the course comes together and celebrates 4 long years of hard work and studying… so of course everyone is going to go all out. With an event as well anticipated as this, and almost ‘once in a lifetime’ unless you go on to do further degrees, it’s a well known fact that some individuals plan WELL ahead, me? I left things a little last minute but everything came together quite well despite this, so I’m going to share a few tips or pointers on preparing for your grad ball.

  1. Shop around! – I’ll admit I can be quite an impulsive buyer so I’d suggest not going for the first dress you see unless you’re 110% sure it’s the one because what if you come across another dress at another shop and like that better?
  2. Try before you buy – This seems like common sense but I’ve tried on clothes and just wanted them so much that I’ve totally dismissed the fact it’s a bit big at the arms or too tight at the hips so know whether it’s the right fit or whether it’ll need alterations and plan ahead incase it needs some tweaks so you know it’ll be ready in time.
  3. Spend wisely – I know this is a very special occasion but do remember there’s a high chance you’ll only wear this dress once and one time only so I wouldn’t spend hundreds on it. However, if you feel you’d wear it time and time again then go for it, but with my dress I refused to spend lots of money for me to wear it for the night.
  4. Afterward dress alternatives – If you’re completely head over heels for your dress and can’t bear the thought of never wearing it again why not do something with it? Get it cut up into a shorter dress, that’s what I’m possibly thinking of doing with mine.
  5. Hair – Luckily my mum is a hairdresser so I didn’t have the trouble of having to find a hairdressers that was opened on a Sunday or finding someone to come and do my hair. I think your hair style really should reflect your dress, and what I mean by that is that if you’re dress is backless, strapless or there’s a lot of detail on the upper half then you don’t want to have your hair down and covering it all, especially if you have Rapunzel hair like me. With my dress being sparkles I went for an up do with lots of curls, a bit of height and some loose curls hanging down the right side of my face. My hair is pretty long so it did spill down my back but my main priority was it being out of my face and allowing you see my dress and a bit of flesh considering my dress was strapless.
  6. Make-up – I’ve never had my make-up done professionally, nor do I wear ten tonne of make-up so having a full face was a weird experience for me and something I don’t think I’ll get used to unless I had my make-up like that regularly. There are make-up artists everywhere these days with costs ranging from £25-45 depending on who you go with. Sometimes it’s so much better if you have a friend who may not do make-up as a profession but is just as amazing as those who do and can do it for a much more affordable price too. My friend done my make-up and refused to take money (I literally had to hide the money in her make-up bag), but I was impressed with my look so sometimes looking closer to home can work out better.
  7. Accessories – My dress was dark purple and pretty plain if I’m being honest, which I liked but to jazz it up a bit I thought I would go for some rose gold accessories so I went for a rose gold choker, which totally added to the bareness around my neck, shoulders and chest area. I also went for a pair of rose gold heeled sandals as I wanted to enjoy the night without worrying about breaking my neck in 10 inch heels. A matching clutch bag is a must and I had a rose gold one to match my shoes so all in all I was loving my look for the night. Sometimes plain is better and you can add your own detail to the outfit with your own accessories.
  8. HAVE FUN! – Remember to have fun! You’ve worked incredibly hard during your time at university so this is the one night you really can let loose and enjoy the time you have left as a student before you’re released into the ‘real’ world as my lecturers call it. University has brought so many amazing people into my life and I’m sure it has for any of my readers who are students too so just make plenty of memories that night and dad dance to Despacito all night long.

What do you think of my tips for grad ball? Also, below is a picture of me before I left to head to the venue, I truly felt like a princess that night and was happy with how everything panned out – all by following the steps above.

18838599_10213324854586948_562079829_o

SaveSave

4 thoughts on “How to Gradball

Leave a Reply

