Wind Down with James Dun’s House

When I was invited to James Dun’s House to experience their spa a couple of weeks ago, it had came at just the right time, having just finished university and exams for good and desperately wanting to wind down. On Hanover Street, just at the corner of Jamie’s Italian Kitchen by the famous George Square was James Dun’s House Hair Salon and Beauty Spa, and from the outside looking in you don’t half expect it to be as big inside as it actually is. Arriving a little early, I stepped into the salon make-up free (a rare occasion for me), and sat eagerly awaiting for the clock to strike 11 and my day of pampering to begin. After a very short wait I was introduced to the lovely Vicky who would be doing my spa treatment, and with such a warm welcoming I knew I was going to enjoy my experience.

I followed Vicky downstairs ending up in one of the treatment rooms where I was given a cosy robe to slip on, and got to take a seat on a comfy chair whilst my feet soaked in some lovely warm water before they were exfoliated. One of my favourite things about the spa was the whole process you have to go through before your treatment even begins… a head to toe body consultation in order to find the best package to suit your skin and body. You’re asked about any problems you may have whether skin or muscular, your stress levels, and whilst responding to these questions all of your answers are being noted down to ensure you get the right treatment for you. Any time I’ve had a massage I’ve been told I have really bad knots in my shoulders, and additionally an issue of my own that always frustrates the life out of me is my sensitive, oily and acne prone skin. Following the consultation, Vicky had shared the products she was going to be using for both my facial and massage. Once I had positioned myself on the bed, my sensory journey began, and I found this great as it’s not just the staff picking things for you, it really is what you yourself wants. The sensory journey is where 3 different scents are sprayed, one after another, and you pick what scent appeals to you and are then told what this scent is made up of and its purpose. The chosen scent is then sprayed at the beginning of the treatment, and I picked the one that I felt was most relaxing as I wanted nothing more than to lie back, eyes closed and feel stress free.

Massage
My first treatment of the day was the massage and I decided to go for a back, neck and shoulder massage since those are the areas I’m usually most tense in. With the soothing music in the background and all my stresses being kneaded away, I couldn’t have been in a more perfect environment for relaxing. The massage was an hour long and it really was the best hour I’d had in a good while, I felt less tense and even the next day I was still feeling the effects of it, with my usually excessively knotted shoulders not feeling so stiff. It’s so important to take care of your body and make sure you give it some down time, so something like this once every month or every few months really would be perfect. Prices vary depending on how long you want to be treated for, for a customised 30 minute treatment for face, body or massage with 1 focus option costs £35, for 60 minutes with 1-2 focus options, is £60, and for 2-3 focus options for 90 minutes, costs £85. I think for what you get the prices are reasonable, especially because it’s a treat, and not something that you’d get done on a daily or weekly basis. These treatments are definitely worth ‘splashing the cash’ on.

Facial
If a massage wasn’t enough, I was then treated to a facial, and as I said in terms of skin type, my skin can be sensitive, pretty oily and prone to breakouts so Vicky picked out products for these very issues. Alongside the facial I got a hand and arm massage, as well as a scalp massage, whilst I lay with some of the products on my face. I really was given the full works,  I feel like I walked out of the place a new person. My skin felt so refreshed afterwards, and I personally think it was truly thanking me for the goodness it was given during that hour. For the couple of weeks after I’ve noticed that the redness and marks on my skin aren’t so prominent and have somewhat calmed down, so this facial would be something I’d like to start doing once a month or once every two months since I feel like my skin experienced the benefits of it. For my specific facial, some of the products that were used were outer peace pads for exfoliation, spot relief for my treatment, and bright concentrate for my pigmentation. These products were really great, and I recommend the outer peace pads, it’s something you can take to the gym for wiping any sweat you may have from your face after a workout or for taking any make-up off, I need to purchase some of these exfoliation pads as soon as possible.

After my lovely spa treatment, I was then lucky enough to experience the hair side of the salon with a complimentary wash and blow-dry. Before this even started I was made a lovely cup of tea with some biscuits, which if anyone knows me, tea is my absolute favourite. James Dun’s House have a complimentary ritual menu, which you’ll be able to see in the picture above. The menu includes an Aveda comforting tea ritual, a stress-relieving scalp and shoulders ritual, a beautifying hand ritual or Chakra balancing journey. I got to experience everything on this little ritual menu but my favourite was the Chakra balancing journey, which makes James Dun’s House so unique from any other salon or spa. This is a 5,000 year old healing tradition from India, that helps us balance our chakras (7 spinning wheels of energy) that affect our health, well-being and beauty. You pick 3 cards that stand out to you whether because of the word or the colour, and each card is linked to a particular scent, however you’re not told which scent links to which card. You smell each scent and pick what number appeals to you, and this is linked to a card with a little bit of reading on it, mines was something to do with how I love feeling connected to others.

After getting my hair washed, the lovely girl who was in charge of doing my hair (I can’t remember names) began drying it and we decided on some lovely loose curls because I wanted a change from my usual poker straight hair. It’s true when people say that hairdressers aren’t just hairdressers, they’re like therapists or agony aunts too, and I had a lovely long chat with the girl about life and it was just lovely to open up to someone despite having only just met them 20 minutes before. One thing I should point out is that my hair spills right down to the bottom of my back so the girl had so much patience taking the time to dry all my hair and then curl it all at the ends, sometimes I don’t even have the patience to do my own hair so a round of applause is deserved for anyone that attempts to style mine. I left the salon with a spring in my step, with my curls bouncing in the breeze and I couldn’t help but look at my reflection in any shop window I passed as it was nice to see my hair styled differently. I was so impressed. A trip to James Dun’s House isn’t just a visit, it’s an experience. This is what I love about this place, it’s not just a sit down, get your treatment and leave, there’s so much interaction like with the Chakra, and the staff are so enthusiastic and really know what good customer service means. Before, I had never knew this place existed on Hanover Street but I’m more than glad that I know of its existence now, it’s like a little escape from reality where you can get absolutely pampered and focus on you. Be sure to check out their website and give them a follow on Twitter.

6 thoughts on “Wind Down with James Dun’s House

Leave a Reply

