Healthy Snacks: Part 2

So on Wednesday I promised a part 2 of my healthy snacks post and here it is. Again, just like my post the other day I’m going to talk about another few amazing companies that I’ve came across whilst on the hunt for some healthy snacks. It’s been fun doing these posts, as I’ve not only had the opportunity to try out these snacks and find out whether they’re up my street, but I’ve gained a lot of insight into the world of healthy snacking.

18575112_10213134581350236_2029348847_o
First up are iQ Superfood Chocolate, also known as the clever little chocolate bar. Made with 70% peruvian cocoa, if not more, these nicely sized bars come with many health benefits:

Nut free
Gluten free
Wheat free
Dairy free
Soya free
High in fibre, copper, and manganese

To sum that up, their chocolate is actually free from all 14 allergens, and is suitable for diabetics type 1 and 2. So with all these advantages, why wouldn’t you try this chocolate for yourself? I was sent flavours: cocoa-nib crunch, original-bean-to-bar, plush peppermint, espresso-kick coffee, orange and wild raspberry, and lusciously lovely lime, so to say I was spoilt for choices is an understatement. All flavours were truly delicious, but my top three have to be the peppermint, lime, and orange and wild raspberry, they made a real change from my plain milk chocolate bars I’m so used to having. These chocolate bars really are a superfood, with one curing any hunger you may have. Costing £1.99, you can purchase these online here, or in-store, if you go on their website and simply type in your postcode, you’ll be given a list of stores near you that sell these such as Peckhams.

18554105_10213134581070229_1630744312_o
Next up are fruit jerky from Snact, a company that make “deliciously sustainable snacks”. The story behind this company starts in 2013, when two longtime friends started buying ugly or unwanted fruit from British farmers in order to prevent food waste. This fruit is then blended into a smoothie form and dried into fruit jerky, all of which takes place on a family farm in Kent. I guess you could call these guys the fruit superheroes. This fruit jerky is vegan, gluten free, free from concentrates, additives, or preservatives, so basically you’re getting 100% real fruit.  Their packaging is even home compostable to prevent waste occurring, and that really sums up the aim of this company, environmentally friendly, wanting to prevent both food and packaging waste.

I was sent multiple packs of 3 flavours: Apple, Blueberry and Banana, Apple and Mango, and Apple and Raspberry. These little jerky pieces were so tasty, it’s crazy to think the things you can do with fruit, especially fruit that was going to go to waste – it just goes to show that food waste really can be prevented. My favourite were the apple and raspberry, just because they’re my favourite fruit in real life, so I really recommend these. They offer great little deals for great prices on their website here with 5 packs of the one flavour costing £4.50, or if you want to mix and match 6 packs this costs £5. Additionally, you can get 15 bags for £14, or 30 bags for £25.50 so go on over to their website and get your order in.

18519134_10213134580630218_1494420064_o
Last but not least are these Hemp snacks I was sent from Planet Hemp. I was sent both the Cacao Heaven and Forbidden Fruit. With ingredients such as coconut flakes, chia seeds, raisins, cinnamon and vanilla, these are the “perfect nutritious snack with big taste”, as well as being snacks you can take on the go with their resealable packaging. Now according to the website there are many nutritional benefits that come with these snacks:

Organic
Gluten free
Every 2 pieces of 30g serving is only 110 calories

An excellent source of protein
An excellent source of iron with 10% of daily recommended value
An excellent source of magnesium with 25% of daily recommended value
An excellent source of manganese with 40% of daily recommended value

So again, a range of benefits. I must admit these products were VERY different from anything I’ve really tried, and in comparison to the other products I’ve discussed on this post as well as the other one, but they are great tasting snacks. My favourite of the two were the forbidden fruit, but I’d like to see what other flavours Planet Hemp may come out with one day in the future. You can buy these on Amazon for £4.50 so be sure to check them out.

I hope you’ve enjoyed both my healthy snacks posts, if you haven’t seen part 1 then click here. Although with exam stress I may have went off the straight and narrow, I’ll definitely be getting back into these snacks now that I’m finished uni.

4 thoughts on “Healthy Snacks: Part 2

  1. JESS @PT CONTENDER says:

    Oh I would definitely want to try those little hemp snacks! I add hemp to my oatmeal in the morning everyday because of all the good fats & minerals. I’m going to look into these and the company. Thanks for some great snack suggestions :))

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

