Tuk Tuk: Indian Street Food Treats

Last week I was invited to try out a new restaurant in Glasgow that opened around about a month ago that goes by the name of Tuk Tuk. Starting off in Edinburgh, Tuk Tuk was founded in 2012 serving food inspired by the streets of India. Their aim was to bring Indian street food culture to Scotland in order to represent and share these delicious dishes so I was really eager to try it out and see what kind of impression it would make. David and I headed straight to the restaurant after our Neuropsychology of Ageing and Dementia lecture  on Monday and were immediately welcomed by the lovely manager Zaheer and seated at our table.

The first thing you notice about this place is the decor, with its bright colours and wall art displaying the name of the restaurant, as well as phrases such as “No Worry”, which only adds to your dining experience. The music was a great touch also, really making you feel like you had been whisked off to the streets of India experiencing the wonderful culture rather than sitting indoors at a food place in the busy Glasgow city centre. The decor, lights, music, and smell of the food to come only added to the atmosphere, and right from the moment you walk through the door you know you’re going to leave satisfied.

One of the most positive things was the customer service, Zaheer has the customers interests at heart, constantly making sure everyone and everything is alright. He talked us through the menu and the Tiffin Tins, which I’ll come on to talk about in just a second, making recommendations and giving us a little bit of background about Indian street food. Hearing all that he had to say made me more excited to try out the food and I think providing customers with all the information he gave us was not only very interesting but also made you feel at ease, especially if you’re not an adventurous eater and haven’t tried some of the dishes they have to offer.

Originally I was going to go for my usual Diet Coke but we were recommended Limca which is the Indian equivalent to Lemonade with its lemon and lime flavours, so if I was going to experience the true Indian street food culture then a Limca was the drink to have. It was so refreshing and I can only begin to imagine how good it would be on a hot Summer’s day. Tuk Tuk order this drink in bulks 3 months in advance from India to have it imported over here, so it was lovely to have a feel of one of the most popular drinks of India.

The way the menu works is that you have your roadside plates, which are your starters or smaller dishes such as pakora or Bengali fishcakes. You then have your Tuk Tuk street curries with a vast list of choices with the likes of Butter Chicken curry or Bombay Chilli Chicken curry. If you don’t fancy a curry you have The Meat Market section of the menu offering the likes of Gilafi kebab or lamb chops. In addition you can order sides such as Masala chips, different types of rice or naan bread. Finally, if you can tackle a dessert after all that mouthwatering food there is a generous number of desserts to choose from. For the full menu check it out here.

Part of our trip there was to try out their signature Tiffin Tin which are lunch boxes that are widely used in India as well as multiple other countries too. After doing some research they commonly come in two or three tiers, however at Tuk Tuk their Tiffin Tin consists of 4 tiers piled on top of one another, all locked together with a small catch on both sides of the handle. With the 4 tins in Tuk Tuk’s very own Tiffin Tin we were to choose a roadside plate (starter), two mains and a side (either rice or naan). When it comes to food I find it extremely difficult to choose what I want, and with so many delicious dishes on the menu my mind was going back and forth scanning each item over and over again to aid in my decision-making.

After much debate I chose Tuk Tuk Samosas, which are a spicy pea and potato pastry for anyone who’s unfamiliar with these. For my two mains I went for the chicken korma and the ginger garlic chicken curry with a side of pilau rice. David chose chicken lollipops (spiced chicken wings), chicken korma, Tuk Tuk wallah staff curry, which is an on the bone roadside curry, and for his side he went for a peshwari naan. We got some poppadoms, spiced onions and dips whilst waiting on our tins to come, which to have a variety of different things to try with the poppadom was great. After a very short amount of time our Tiffin tins arrived and this was when things got even greater. I was so amused by these tins and only wish that more places had things like these in their restaurant, it 100% adds to your experience. You can go from restaurant to restaurant and have dinner time and time again, but it’s things like this that make a restaurant stand out and get people talking. After unclipping the latches on the sides, the top tin held my 2 samosas, which turned out to be a delicious start only making increasing my expectations about the two curries I was about to tuck into. The two middles tins were the curries, and I started off with the ginger garlic chicken curry, a curry I had never tried before (see above). The combination of the ginger and garlic was delicious making this one memorable and an overall tasty curry for me – I’d go back for that alone. Next was the chicken korma. Now I’m a big chicken korma fan and it’s the one curry I’ll always get if I’m visiting an Indian restaurant or ordering a takeaway so I was excited to try Tuk Tuk’s very own chicken korma. I wasn’t disappointed, neither was David as he’s just as big a korma fan as I am. It was a lovely sweet tasting curry and went well with the peshwari naan that David ordered.

These Tiffin Tins make the perfect lunch with the portions being excellent despite how people may view the size of each individual tin (they’re packed with goodness inside). I actually struggled to finish my curries due to everything being so filling, and that’s saying something considering I could eat absolutely everything and still want more. These Tiffin Tins are served every day between 12-4pm for only £12, and I just can’t emphasise how worth the money they are, you’ll leave feeling full and happy after being treated to such lovely Indian food. Overall, I’m so glad I had to chance to try out this absolute delight of a place, like I said already, the decor, music, customer service all add to the visit being an amazing one, but just the food will leave you wanting more. If you’re in Glasgow or Edinburgh at some point in the near future then please be sure to try out this wonderful place, you won’t regret it, but for now you can check out their website here and follow them on Twitter. I can only continue to recommend Tuk Tuk to everyone I know and I’m looking forward to my next visit.

4 thoughts on “Tuk Tuk: Indian Street Food Treats

Leave a Reply

