Can you feel the love tonight?

It’s the run up to Valentine’s Day so I’ve been feeling extra romantic this week and last and decided to plan a little pre-Valentine’s evening for David. So what was my inspiration for putting on this little evening? Well besides from wanting to do something special for him, when I was in Poundland last week stocking up on lots of sweeties for our TV binges and cinema trips I noticed that Poundland had a lovely little Valentines range. They had the full lot, with cutlery and dishes to champagne buckets, and all of your heart shaped goodies, which you simply can’t refuse when they only cost £1 each. I decided I’d make David dinner with all of the love themed props on offer and show him how greatly appreciated he is.

Last week I went back in store and purchased the heart shaped plates, champagne flutes, heart shaped plate and glass mats, the LED love sign, the trio of heart shaped nibble dishes and heart shaped caramel chocolates to scatter around the table since I couldn’t get my hands on any confetti….David loves chocolate anyway so he appreciated that a lot more than he would have appreciated confetti.

Okay so skip to tonight, our lecture didn’t finish till 4 so we headed home together and I left him to play Battlefront on the Playstation 4 in my room whilst I prepared everything. I set up the table and considering I had never done anything like this before I was frantically pacing back and forth in the kitchen trying to do everything at once whilst also trying to remember what I was actually meant to be doing in the first place. I set up all the table as you can see above, lit a Yankee candle (Cosy by the Fire) to place on the table and got out the chilled bottle of Pinot Noir Rose from the fridge. The little heart-shaped nibble bowls were filled with popcorn, a different flavour for each of course: salted for one, sweet and salty for another, and caramel for the third. I set up my laptop on the window ledge and began playing the playlist I had made him on Spotify when we first started going out, everyone likes to reminisce, especially because it was his idea to make each other playlists in the first place. “I Was Made for Loving You” by Tori Kelly ft. Ed Sheeran was the first song on the playlist and one of my absolute favourites so that really set the atmosphere, you began to forget you were even sitting in the kitchen of my house after a while with all the perfectly chosen songs with their perfectly fitting lyrics (I’m a good playlist maker).

My mum ushered David into the kitchen pretending to be a very efficient waiting staff at a top restaurant with a dish towel over her arm trying to act the part, it was pretty hilarious. He walked into the kitchen and was really impressed at the effort I had made, and I don’t know why but for the first time since our very first date, I felt really shy and like a little girl again, I think it’s because I’ve never gone to this much effort before and I wanted it to be special so I was a little overwhelmed. A few sips of wine and I was all good though. We had soup and crusty rolls to start with, Hunters chicken and mashed potatoes for our main, and to finish off we had melt in the middle orange chocolate puddings and ice-cream, which went down well. We are big foodies so the only time we don’t actually speak to one another is when we’re eating so a 3 course dinner was the ideal night for us, absolutely stuffing our faces and finding time to talk in between course. I successfully managed to not burn anything, or poison either of us, as well as doing the gazillion dishes after we had finished. I may be slightly tipsy typing this right now but I’m one very content girl. I had a lovely night and David felt the love which is all that I wanted, he’s my absolute best friend so when he’s happy, I’m happy.

For some this may just seem like throwing some dinner together but I appreciate things like this, and with the little extras , regardless of what shop they were from I feel like they added a romantic touch to the evening. What’s the most romantic thing you’ve ever done for someone, please do share your stories below.

8 thoughts on “Can you feel the love tonight?

  1. milenkamillie ✨❄️ says:

    This is such a sweet surprise to do for your boyfriend! The table setting is just so pretty and I can’t believe it’s from Poundland! It’s so lovely to do something small but significant like this ☺️ I’m a big believer in the little things in life! xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

