Do Concerts Break the Bank?

Music is everything, there’s nothing better than falling in love with a song, relating to lyrics, or repeatedly playing that one favourite album of yours because you never ever get sick of it. Even better is when you finally get to hear that music brought to life during a concert, whether it’s your favourite band, singer, or even when you’re being a good pal and accompanying a friend to a gig of someone you’ve never heard of before. I love when musicians I listen to hint at touring, release the tour dates and then leave me in anticipation wondering if I’ll manage to grab a pair of hot in demand tickets when they go on sale. Although I only have a couple of concerts to look forward to this year, in previous years I’d have them all lined up and thinking back I can only imagine how much money I’ve spent on the tickets themselves, and at some points even travel and hotel expenses if I was seeing someone out of the country.

The reason I’ve decided to write this post is because of how overpriced concert tickets are these days. Now only a couple of weeks ago Ed Sheeran announced his tour dates and all during the week his tickets have been on sale via different presales and then the overall general sale with them selling out in seconds. This was something I had been looking forward to as I’m a massive fan of Ed’s music, and have seen him all but one time he’s toured here. I expected the tickets to be a maximum of £50, which I wouldn’t mind paying but even then that’s £50 gone in a flash. I went online to have a look at some information a couple of days before they went live and I was shocked to find out that the standing tickets were £77, not that I needed a standing ticket but just the thought of anyone paying that price seems insane. What’s frustrating is that when artists start out their ticket prices are pennies, I seen Ed back in 2011 when he had started out with his single ‘The A Team’ and the ticket was unbelievably cheap. Again in 2012, the tickets although they had went up in price were still only around £18-20. With the release of his latest two singles early last month after a break from the industry, and the build up of excitement over his album that’ll be released next month, I would have loved to have seen him but I just couldn’t justify £77 or even the likes of £40+ for a seat up in the higher levels.

I paid less for a Justin Bieber standing ticket, and although you can’t really compare the two as they’re both very different artists, in terms of fame level they’re both exceptionally big so that surprised me. One band I’m really fond of are The Vamps and although they may not be Ed Sheeran level of big, they always make sure fans have the opportunity to see them by having a percentage of their tickets under £15. For their last arena tour a bulk of their tickets were £9.50, so if you couldn’t afford the likes of the £50 tickets then there was still a good chance you could see them. Even their next arena tour that’s beginning just next month the ticket prices have increased, however, the cheapest were still only around £12/13 so you really can’t complain. I wish the management of every artist had this idea in mind.

Ticket prices are in no way the artists decision, they don’t really get much of a say, management are the ones who decide on pricing, what cities or countries the artists play etc. However, these big artists are playing so many dates around the world, sometimes two or three in the ONE city so they would never be losing out on money if the prices were to be lowered a great deal. This post isn’t all about Ed’s prices because there’s so many artists that tour and whose tickets are just as expensive, I was simply using Ed as a recent example. The individuals working behind these big artists and who decide on these prices should realise that once upon a time these artists were unheard of and although they worked so hard to get to where they are today, it’s the individuals that buy their albums and buy their concert tickets that also help them reach the top too, something which I think is forgotten at times in this money-making world.

What do you think about concert ticket prices? Reasonable or overpriced?

9 thoughts on “Do Concerts Break the Bank?

  1. PippaPosts says:

    Great post, lovely idea!
    I definitely do think concert tickets can so often be overpriced, especially as artists become more mainstream. For example I saw The Weeknd years ago, when he wasn’t even on the charts, and I paid around the £10 mark, but to see him on tour this year I had to pay over £40+. It was crazy! But you’re definitely right it’s a moneymaking world after all, and sadly they know people will fork over that amount.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. thekimkonnection says:

    Concert prices are pretty steep, especially if the band is super popular. I know it can be cheaper depending on the venue, for example Beyonce played at an outdoor stadium in my state (I’m from the U.S.) and tickets for nose-bleed seats weren’t too awful. But I spent over $50 on tickets to see the 1975. It was worth it, but it was not cheap. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Holly says:

      Yeah they can be ridiculously priced! It definitely is worth it for certain shows but these bands and artists could still make heaps of money if they lowered their prices and made it more about the fans!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

