Afternoon Tea Delights

For Christmas my little sister treated me to an afternoon Tea in the city. One thing you should know about me is that I love tea, I’ll have it first thing in the morning, when I get home from uni, or before I go to bed, therefore a day out involving a combination of unlimited tea, cakes and finger sandwiches was made for me. Last Sunday we headed to the restaurant eagerly discussing our excitement about our little outing as we don’t see each other that regularly. Just a heads up, my little sister is 13 going on 30 so she has plenty of chat and from this post you’ll probably realise she seems maturer for her age.

When we arrived and had been seated, we scanned the menu taking a sneak peak at what was to come. The afternoon tea came with prosecco, which obviously a 13 year old can’t have, and despite Kiera whispering over to me to “take the extra prosecco” for myself, I didn’t want to end up a giggling mess walking through town on a Saturday afternoon so we opted for a blackcurrant and lemonade for Kiera, and just the ONE prosecco for me. So there I was sitting with a glass of prosecco at 12 o’clock, which felt rather early to be drinking alcohol but Kiera as always somehow managed to make me feel better about it by pointing out that “it’s 5 o’clock somewhere in the world.” What a blessing to be related to her.

We had the option of tea or coffee and both ended up going for tea, with me plopping more sugar cubes than likely recommended but I like my tea sweet. Following the Tea came the sandwiches and the cake stand with 3 levels filled with little treats to make anyone’s heart pretty content. It included: strawberry tarts, chocolate brownies, a selection of mini chocolate cups, lemon meringue tarts, and scones with cream and strawberry jam. Kiera is just as fussy an eater as me but the restaurant were more than happy to put up with us and we had simple ham sandwiches to begin with. Let’s be real though, when you’ve got a delightful little cake stand perched in front of you, the sandwich eating doesn’t last long. We quickly ate a couple of sandwiches and tucked right into the stand, starting off with the scones. The scones, cream and jam had me at hello, we sat absolutely drooling over how good they were, you’d have thought we’d never been fed before. Then we tucked into the other cakes, with anything that Kiera didn’t like kindly being passed to me, so no complaints there. For miniature cakes and goodies our eyes were bigger than our bellies, having to continuously take breaks to build up some energy in order to finish the rest. We successfully managed, and writing up this post now I could really do with some tea and cake.

Afternoon Teas are as popular as ever now with almost every place doing them these days. This was the perfect little gift from my sister and rather than having a lazy Sunday afternoon like I normally do, this was a nice treat before Monday came around and the uni deadlines came crashing down on me once again.

 

20 thoughts on “Afternoon Tea Delights

Leave a Reply

