Escape From The City

For Christmas David surprised me by booking a little getaway and the place we were staying in was none other than a lodge, something I’ve been wanting to tick off the to-do list for a while – he really knows how to pull out the stops. After patiently waiting for the couple of weeks after Christmas to pass, Tuesday finally arrived and we took the long drive to the Lodge on Loch Lomond. Just as the name says, the lodges really are on the loch with some of the most beautiful views you will ever see, the mountains in the distance, some even sprinkled with snow, really setting the scene. It’s the little things like these that make you really appreciate the world.

David requested one of the Munro rooms and a loch view so as soon as we arrived and checked in I was eager to race to the room, explore and take lots of pictures. The room was the cosiest little place ever, so warm and homely with a massive bed with two robes and towels for the leisure facilities perched on top, an insanely comfy sofa, an open plan bath and shower area with a little dressing table, a TV with all the latest cinema releases to rent and our very own little balcony. This was most certainly my cup of tea and one of those places I knew I’d find difficult to leave. With me being a city girl it was so nice to get out the way of the constant business and venture out to a place so out in the open with not much around except from the water and the tiny little village nearby.

After continuously aw’ing over the room we decided to make the most of the leisure facilities, and there was something for everyone: a swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, and a heat experience room. The jacuzzi was first on the list which turned out to be a bad idea because going from something so warm straight into a cold pool can be a bit of a shock to the system to say the least. There was nothing better than having a relaxing swim up and down the length of the pool knowing I had no deadlines to meet and that university wasn’t starting back for another couple of days, I wish every day could feel as stress free as that. If you’re wanting a relaxing night or weekend away then this really is the ideal place, the location, the facilities, and the room itself make it perfect for winding down.

Once we took advantage of the leisure facilities we headed back to the room to get ready for dinner, although with how amazing the room is you might want nothing more than to curl up in the room and hide away. The staff were so friendly, particularly the girl named Martha that dealt with us for the majority of the night. We started off with a Summer’s Delight cocktail whilst we scanned over the menu to decide on our 2 courses – you could either go for a starter or main, or main and dessert, what do you think I went for? The main and dessert of course. Although it was really dark outside, the restaurant overlooked the loch so you could see the moon reflecting on it, which really set the scene and made it that extra bit romantic. For our mains we both went for the beef burger and skinny fries, you can’t really go wrong with burger and chips but this was probably one of the nicest burgers I’ve had. Dessert was the highlight of the night, and over a week later we’re still going on about it. We chose a dessert name Apple, which consisted of an array of little delights: apple mousse, toffee apple, doughnuts and apple sorbet. It’s hard to decide what part of the dessert was my favourite, there was a generous portion of everything, but if I had to choose it was the doughnut – I rate this dessert so highly that I’d go back to the Lodge just for the dessert. People may think that with everything being apple flavoured/related that it’d taste the same but everything tasted so different, that’s what we both loved so much about this dish. I wish I had taken a picture of it because the presentation was lovely but I was so curious to try it out that taking a photo was not even an option.

Following dinner we stumbled back to our lodge unable to move from the amount we ate and sat out on the balcony with our robes wrapped tightly around us, with a glass of prosecco in hand and a box of chocolate truffles. Nights like that make me content, to know that I could be sitting in silence on a balcony and be completely happy because I’m with great company. To top off the night we rented Me Before You on the TV, a movie we both hadn’t see and it was so wonderful, I recommend watching it if you haven’t already – I could go on about just how great it was and that it made me feel 101 different emotions but I don’t want to give anything away. That’s another great thing about this lodge, the fact you have the opportunity to rent some of the latest releases, so if you’re there for nothing more than a relaxing weekend of doing nothing, you have a wide variety of movies to choose from.

The next morning we had an early rise for breakfast, the most important meal of the day but only that day I realised that. Within our package we had both access to the all you can eat continental breakfast and all you can eat full Scottish breakfast (they had packets of Nutella!!!!!). Me being me I absolutely filled my plate up until you could barely see the plate itself and I sat happily eating away, sipping on my coffee and again enjoying the incredible views never wanting the time away to end. When we had ate until we could no longer eat any more we checked out and went for a walk along the beach since the rain decided to have a break. We walked along to the end of the pier and there were a group of tourists filming us as we walked past, saying hello and asking if we were on our honeymoon. We stood at the end of the pier taking in the views and snapping up lots of picture whilst the wind began to pick up and just as we were heading back along the beach to the car the dreadful weather took its toll again, but one advantage of that is the amazing picture of the rainbow I took above – possibly one of my favourites.

This really was the ideal gift for me, David knows me too well, with out little adventures being some of the greatest. If you’re looking for somewhere to go for a night or two, whether with your other half, friends, or mum then this is the place to head to. The Lodge on Loch Lomond is suitable for everyone, whether you want to wind down and use the leisure facilities, have a cosy night in their spectacular rooms or have a wonderful breakfast, lunch or dinner in their dining area with exquisite views. For those who want to explore, the location is perfect for this, especially if you like long walks, or you can even go down to Loch Lomond shores for a spot of shopping, the aquarium or other various outdoor activities. I definitely want to do another lodge at some point this year, so I guess we’ll need to see what’s to come. Have you ever stayed in a lodge?

21 thoughts on “Escape From The City

    • adailydoseofholly says:

      They were adorable, I felt so at home! Oh I’ll need to check them out as I’d love to stay at more in the future. Definitely give it a try, there’s always deals online for staying there which can work out so amazing in terms of price, especially if they include breakfast and dinner etc xxx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

