Student Box of Goodness

Heading to university is a massive transition for anyone, some more than others, and speaking from my own personal experience it was a big change in my life. Although I live at home with my mum I can only imagine how hard it must be for some students to move away from the place they’ve lived for 17/18 years, if not longer, to part their ways from the friends they’d see on a daily basis at school, and for some, even move country. It can be difficult as well as time-consuming attempting to figure out what to send a loved one whilst they’re at university and this is where an amazing monthly subscription box ideal for university students comes into play.

15909873_10211867292148798_636829925_n
The UniBox* is a monthly care package for university students containing wholesome treats, fun and useful items, the unimag, and a handwritten message. Whether you are a parent, family or friend of someone who is studying at university, this box aims to only further enhance their university experience. The content within the box changes every month, providing students with something different to pick them up whether they’re feeling homesick or just need a little bit of energy to get them through those long days spent studying and completing assignments. I got the opportunity to review the January box which has a retail value of over £45 and all I can say is wow; within the box you’re receiving way more than you pay for.

This month’s box contains a range of goodies that would keep any uni student satisfied. First up is the perfect sized chocolate bar from a Welsh company named NomNom and from the name you can certainly tell that you’re in for a right treat. I received the Honeycomb flavour and just as it states on the back of the bar “demolish by”, this was well and truly demolished whilst I curled up and watched TV on the sofa after a hard day doing continuous work on my dissertation.

There are also two sachets of Protein shakes by Purition: chocolate flavour and macadamia and vanilla flavour. Unlike a lot of students I know I’ve never tried protein shakes so I’m looking forward to getting the chance to try these out when I start back uni next week. Being a student, some days after hours worth of lectures we are prone to eating rubbish (well maybe I’m speaking for myself) and therefore miss out on the goodness our bodies truly need, so these protein shakes can support our attempts at healthy eating and fitness goals whilst at the same time working around our busy lifestyles.

Next up is Apple Crisps by Spare Fruit, these are air dried kentish apples which provide you with a sweet but tangy finish. Again, these are another product I’ve not tried before, and maybe many students haven’t tried them either, but that’s what I like about this subscription box, it allows you to try new things whilst being healthy too.

Every student loves a good old hot drink, I myself spend quite a bit of money on tea, coffee, or any other Starbucks drink to get me through a library session, so the next product in the box is TeaPigs Popcorn Tea. In the little box contains 15 biodegradable tea temples which is a mixture of green tea and toasted rice. When I first saw that it was popcorn tea I really looked forward to trying it as I’m wanting to try and get away from my daily boring cups of tea with sugar and milk and step it up a notch to the likes of green tea, and with this you can have it either hot or iced.

In addition to all those amazing products I’ve mentioned so far is BubbleOff! Tonka Bean and Lime Room Spray, and BubbleOff! are all about handmade vegan skin care and bath treats. This was definitely one of my favourite products included as it has such a lovely smell and very refreshing too with the lime. This would be the ideal product for any student making their room smell extra fresh and clean, and as my mum says “if you clear the clutter from your room you are clearing the clutter from your mind”, so a nice smelling environment may make studying that little bit more bearable.

Whatever you put into your body has important consequences, whether good or bad so always try to make sure it’s good in order to make sure your body gets the vitamins it requires to ‘flourish’. University, especially the busier times such as Freshers week can be rife for freshers flu which is always heavily emphasised in leaflets and posters in the run up to and during Freshers week. If you provide your body with goodness such as vitamin tablets then this can help fight off germs, and may make you less likely to catch these colds and flus that can spread like wildfire during busy times at university. Included was Calcium and Vitamin D Effervescent tablets (10 of them), which helps maintain normal bones and teeth through the calcium and vitamin D within the tablets. They’re orange flavour and you take 1 tablet per day dissolved in 200ml of water.

Extras in the box, and one particular item that I found handy was the student card holder as it’s so easy to put it down and forget to pick it back up. I don’t know how many times I’ve got myself into a panic trying to find my card so the student card holder not only allows you to stick the card holder onto your phone but holds your student card safely so that you don’t have to waste time sifting through pockets and bags trying to dig it out. Another useful item was the £20 Teech App voucher, which is connects students with a variety of mentors from the UK’s top universities to answer any of their questions via live video calls, whether of mathematical or scientific nature.

Also included is the UniBox Mini Magazine, with the theme of this month being goal setting, however in future magazines there will also be recipes, tips and even more. You could learn a few things in the kitchen, learn how to manage your studying better, or how to meet your dream goals. Finally is the handwritten note from either the sender or the team behind UniBox, which I think makes this subscription box extra personal. This is the first thing the student will find when they open up the box so being a long way from home or having not seen their loved ones for a longer time than usual, this can be really special knowing that they have been thought of.

Although I’ve lived at home through all my years at university, for those friends I know of that haven’t, this would have been an ideal subscription box for them and one I wish had been released back when we started university over 3 years ago. If you fancy gifting a loved one or even yourself this subscription box then there are 7 days left for you to order the January box and even better…the January Box is FREE, I wouldn’t want you to miss out on this wonderful offer. How does it work? You can choose your plan and cancel any time you want, with free shipping include. Subscription plans include:

1 month plan – £24.99 per box
3 month plan – £23.98 per box
6 month plan – £22.50 per box

So if you’ve completely been won over by the idea of this amazing subscription box like I have then you can order here today: http://theunibox.com/shop/. Remember if you order before the 15th then you can get the January box and get it FREE!

If you click this link to subscribe for your very own Unibox then you will get £5 off!!!! http://theunibox.refr.cc/adailydoseofholly

18 thoughts on “Student Box of Goodness

  1. XandraRose Blog says:

    This is such an amazing idea! I never went to uni, I’m way too much of a home bird and hate being away from home for too long haha, but for uni students this is a fab idea and it gives you something to look forward to each month! Lovely post xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. GirlsMyAge says:

    There is nothing in this world that hasn’t been done, this is ingenous, love the way it’s not just food but useful things for your dorm etc. So cool that you got to review this product- well done! I want to say a masssive thank you gorgeous for following my blog💕

    Liked by 1 person

    • adailydoseofholly says:

      Exactly, it has every student covered with a bit of everything in the box. I’m really glad I got to review one of the first ever boxes, and I’m happy to spread the word! It’s very creative.

      Thank you for following me also, your blog is fantastic! 💕

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

