Winter Candles Galore

Winter is my favourite time of year, and with dark nights beginning from as early as 3pm, candles prove perfect for cosy nights indoors keeping you at bay from the cold outside. The candle craze has taken off these days, with candles of every possible fragrance you can imagine, and if you’re not aware of this already then you will be by the end of this post. I’m going to talk about candles from a few different companies, whether well known or unheard of until now that would be ideal for Winter time.

15841230_10211813675368412_1865193281_n
Love Aroma brings together a variety of home fragrance brands, from the likes of candles, diffusers, and fragrance lamps. Popular on the site is Yankee Candles*, and these were the very candles I chose. This might be quite bizarre but I’ve never actually tried out Yankee Candles before, and after receiving them I’m sad I’ve left it till now before I decided to finally try them out. Their Christmas range in particular won me over, and there was so much choice with flavours such as “Macaron treats” leaving you wondering how they can create scented candles of such flavours. I received small jars of:

Cosy by the Fire
Christmas Memories
Winter Glow

Cosy by the Fire was exactly as the name states, it was a gorgeous strong smell like wood burning under the fireplace and reminded me of Bonfire Night with the aftermath of all the fireworks, but in the best way possible. This is definitely the ideal candle to accompany you in those cosy nights in. Christmas Memories was probably my favourite as this smelt of a mix of homemade baking, cinnamon and gingerbread, it was really Christmassy and again like the name says, as soon as the smell hits you you’re reminded of all those Christmas memories. This is another ideal choice for those Winter nights making you feel warm not only on the outside but on the inside too. Finally is Winter Glow, and being completely honest, I didn’t know what to expect in terms of scent. It was really simple, and lovely, not overpowering at all, just a very lightly fragranced candle. I definitely intend on purchasing Yankee Candles in the future, and I’d recommend them to any candle lover. Don’t forget that Love Aroma sell more than just Yankee Candles so give their site a little browse and you’ll find that ideal candle or diffuser for you: https://www.lovearoma.co.uk

15841570_10211813674768397_141695704_n
Tangy Melon are a company I’ve taken a real interest in after coming across them online. With a name like theirs, you can only expect their candles to be fun and quirky, and they were just that. Influenced by a love for quotes, candles, and crazy colours, there is something for everyone with a generous variety of candles such as humorous candles to Zodiac candles, and family and pets candles, but I’m going to focus on their Christmas range. This particular range brings scents such as:

Sakura and Frankincense #Festive
Pumpkin and Spiced Apple #WhiteChristmas
Cinnamon and Ginger #Kisses
Anise #FourleggedSanta

I got to try out #Presents*, with the scent Clove Oil and having no idea what it would smell like I was really looking forward to receiving this candle. My favourite thing about Tangy Melon candles are the presentation with the little phrases displayed on their tins. For my candle it had “You had me at ho ho ho” which was a hit with me. It had a really sweet but slightly spicy smell to it, and even my room right now smells of it, although it’s not overbearing. This has got to be one of my favourite candles, I can’t put my finger on the smell but it definitely reminds me of sweets of some sort, possibly Kola Kubes, I can’t get enough of the scent. These candles are priced at £9.95 and use 100% natural wax and oils. With the scent of the candle I received, I definitely want to try out more from Tangy Melon in the future, they have candles fitting any occasion with some of the best scents around, you can check them out here: http://www.tangymelon.com.

Next up is Lomas and Lomas, a business run by husband and wife, Garry and Sharon who both share a love for photography and interiors, with their products ranging from cushions, lampshades, and candles. Their candle range provides you with numerous options, making the decision a little more difficult:

Mandarin Lime Basil
Cassis & Fig
Black Plum & Rhubarb
Grapefruit
Rose & Rosemary
Pomegranate

Moroccan Orange Blossom
Orchid & Lotus Blossom
Amber & Black Lily

I tried out the Pomegranate* fragrance with the candles simple butterfly logo and business name making this candle simplistic but wonderful. I loved the sweet, fruity fragrance of this candle and its size proved perfect too, allowing it to last a lot longer. With their great range to choose from, in the future I’d love to try the grapefruit, moroccan orange blossom, and black plum and rhubarb candles as these seem interesting. These candles are made with natural soy wax with a burn time of 40-50 hours, making them well worth the £18 they are priced at. They will be made available to purchase online starting from next month at http://www.lomasandlomas.co.uk.

Finally are a wonderful candle and diffuser from Harrison Varma, luxury developers who created candles and diffusers for their latest project, Buxmead in The Bishops Avenue. These were produced by Alexander Soveral and I was sent one of their candles along with a diffuser*. Both the diffuser and candle were of their signature scent, with their main ingredient being Balsam Fir providing you with that homely feeling in an instant. This was certainly a new smell to me, but such a pleasant one, making me feel like I was in the middle of a forest with the smell of nature all around me, this is a great signature scent. I was also kindly sent handcrafted Buxmead salted caramel chocolate, and it was some of the finest chocolate I’ve tasted – chocolate and candles make the best combination, they really do know how to get it right. One of my favourite things that I feel the need to comment on was the presentation, they came in a little brown bag, neatly tied together in a bow, so this gets extra points from me. Links: (http://www.harrisonvarma.co.uk & http://www.alexandrasoveral.co.uk)

This was a post that I really enjoyed writing up, getting to smell candles till my heart’s content and then comment on them was a whole lot of fun, and I’ve found some really great brands that I’d like to purchase from in the future. I hope you enjoyed reading this, and as mentioned all the links for each company are within the post, so check them out, it’s always good to start the New Year with some great smelling candles.

3 thoughts on “Winter Candles Galore

  1. XandraRose Blog says:

    Any candle related post gets my attention haha! I am obsessed with them and this is a lovely post and I’m loving the pictures. I have heard of but never bought my own Lomas & Lomas candles, they sound amazing and the packaging is to die for xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

