Christmas 2016

I can’t believe that’s yet another Christmas come and gone just like that, but I hope everyone had the best day with their loved ones, overindulging on Turkey and parsnips. I just thought I’d do a little post on how my Christmas was spent this year, although it’s probably quite the same as every other year, but a little more quiet for 2016. This is probably the most unprepared I’ve been for Christmas in years, having finished my exams on the 16th I didn’t have a single present in for anyone so the majority of my time between then and Christmas was spent actually thinking of what to get everyone and then having to face the shops and crowds to attempt to buy them – I succeeded though.

‘Twas the night before Christmas’ is the climax leading up to the big day, and the tradition is that I always without a doubt purchase a new pair of pyjamas for bed that night, but like I said, being as unprepared as I was, this was the first time I didn’t actually have a pair, shock horror. I presumed I’d get a pair no problem in Primark with the huge selection there was to choose from in previous weeks, but little did I know that they wouldn’t have my size in any of them, so after rummaging through every possible rack I got over my fascination of having fresh pyjamas and headed straight to Starbucks for a caramel machiato. Now this is the part where my boyfriend David comes in to the story. After finishing work at 4pm he was taking longer than usual to drive to mine because he was buying “alcohol” from Morrisons for Christmas day, and although that was true, it was also a little cover up. He turned up at my door with a bunch of roses in one hand and a gift bag in the other, which contained none other than new Christmas Eve pyjamas, fluffy bed socks, body butter, more body and beauty products, and a box of chocolates. If this isn’t amazing then I don’t know what is, and not simply because he came “bearing gifts” (sorry I had to throw a nativity line in there), but just the thought that he put into it made me one happy girl, that night I climbed into bed in my pyjamas with the biggest smile on my face that’s for sure.

That very Christmas morning I lay awake in bed like a big kid waiting for my mum to come in to see if I was awake so I could go through to the living room, I promise I’m 21. We all opened our presents, pleased with what we received, followed by me having pasta for breakfast because I’m all about that holiday weight gain, tis the season. Christmas was just like any other Christmas, spent with the most important people in your life, and eating as much food as you can lay your eyes on until you feel like you can’t go on anymore, whilst reminding yourself of all the leftovers you’ll have to eat the following day, Boxing Day, if you’re lazy like me and can’t comprehend the thought of hitting the town for the sales. When you were a kid Christmas was characterised by the gifts under the tree that were eagerly waiting to be opened, the letters written to Santa declaring all the many presents you’d want him to bring, but as you get older you realise it’s not about what’s under the tree, but who is around it, and I’m appreciative to spend each Christmas that goes by with my family. I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas too and that it met all your expectations, the next thing fast approaching is the New Year so I best get thinking of all those resolutions that I’m unlikely to stick to. How was your Christmas spent?

6 thoughts on “Christmas 2016

Leave a Reply

