A Night at the Ballet

On Wednesday David and I travelled to Edinburgh as I was invited along to see the Scottish Ballet: Hansel and Gretel with the company that David works with. As a kid my mum, gran and I would usually go and see the Ballet around Christmas time, and considering that was probably around 11 years ago or more, it was nice to be able to experience it at 21. It was lovely getting to go to Edinburgh at this time of year as I’ve always wanted to go there during Christmas time for the markets and funfair rides, and to see the Street of Light, and although we never done any of that, just getting away for the evening and doing something different was good enough for me.

After getting off the tram a couple of stops early, which yes I find it so weird saying “tram” considering Edinburgh is the only place in Scotland with trams, we took the long walk up past the Royal Mile to an Italian restaurant called Ciao Roma where we were all meeting to get dinner before the show. I’d never met any of the guys before so after being introduced to them, I quickly settled in among the chat and got to know them all a little better. For starters I had Minestrone Toscano, which was a lovely vegetable and barley soup, followed by my main of Pollo Milanese, which was breaded chicken with fries and salad, again so good. The dessert was the best part, it doesn’t matter how full I am, I can never say no to dessert, as my over-used saying states… dessert doesn’t go to the stomach, it goes straight to the heart. I had ice-cream as you could choose any two scoops of their award-winning ice-cream, so I went for white chocolate and nutella and mint chocolate. The white chocolate and nutella was amazing, with chunky bits of nutella throughout the ice-cream, it went down a treat with me.

Once ourselves and our bellies were satisfied we headed just across the road to the Festive Theatre to take our seats as the show was starting at 7.30pm. We had seats in the stalls so we were around 5 rows from the stage, which made for the perfect view. The production was Hansel and Gretel, so we were all curious as to how a children’s story like this would be told through ballet. We were all really impressed with such a beautiful dance telling the story so wonderfully through magic and mischief. Everything was well thought out from the stage props and set up, right down to the outfits and of course the music from the orchestra, with such talented musicians. This show really got me in the mood for Christmas, and was different from my usual Pantomime ways so is quite possibly a thing I’d like to do more during the holiday seasons in the future. Has anyone else been to see any Ballet productions throughout Christmas?

Leave a Reply

