The Christmas Tag

Since it’s officially 1 week till Christmas I thought it’d only be right to get involved with the Christmas tag. I finished up my uni exams on Friday so it’s been so nice not having to study this weekend, or feel guilty for not studying as much as I should have – now it’s time for me to get right into the Christmas spirit, so here I go answering questions as part of the Christmas tag.

What’s your favourite Christmas movie?

100% The Polar Express, I wish there was a Polar Express in real life, that would definitely be on my bucketlist, it’s so magical. I love The Nativity too, it reminds me of all my school plays when I was a kid, and everyone loves a happy ending.

Have you ever had a white Christmas?

Hmm the weather is so temperamental here that it can snow really bad in March, so I’m sure I have had a White Christmas but then I could be mistaken it for all the random times during the year that it’s snowed here before. I think snow is really pretty but I don’t like it when it turns to slush and then ice, there’s nothing worse.

Where do you usually spend your holiday?

I always spend it with my family in the house, although there’s been a few times we’ve went out for Christmas dinner, which is nice too and saves my mum all the stresses of cooking and organising everything.

What is your favourite Christmas song?

You’ll probably all be like “typical” but it’s got to be All I Want For Christmas Is You, it’s just one of those songs you instantly burst into when it starts playing and you get all dramatic and pretend you can sing like Mariah Carey when you really can’t.

Do you open any presents on Christmas Eve?

There has been past Christmases where mum would usually let me open one or two on Christmas Eve, but not anymore. I always get a new pair of pyjamas for Christmas Eve so technically they’re a gift.

Can you name all of Santa’s reindeers?

Rudolph, Prancer, Dixon, Vixen, Comet, and Blitzen? I feel like I’m missing some but I genuinely can’t remember, that’s terrible.

What holiday traditions are you most looking forward to this year? 

Just spending time with my family and making more amazing memories. Usually I have exams in January but with them being in December this year it means I won’t be studying over Christmas which will be lovely. I can’t wait for all the food, it’s definitely going to be weight gain season for me but that’s what Christmas is all about, indulgence.

Is your Christmas tree real or fake?

It’s fake. I would love a real one but feel like it’d smell weird, then the branches might fall off and what if there’s creepy crawlies on it? Maybe I’m just paranoid.

What is your all time favourite holiday food/sweet treat?

Turkey or stuffing, but then again I just love all the food mum cooks for Christmas dinner so I can’t really choose. I’m a sucker for Caramel Machiatos this holiday season, I think I had one everyday in the run up to exams, I’m now slightly addicted and trying to lay off them but it’s proving difficult.

Be honest, do you like giving gifts or receiving gifts better?

I like both, but not because I’m spoilt and love receiving, it’s just nice picking something out for someone and watch their reaction opening it, and then knowing they’ve went out and picked something they thought I would love and getting to open it – the interaction between the two is lovely.

What’s the best Christmas gift you’ve ever received?

I can’t choose one, everyone always gets me lovely gifts, but particularly my mum, she always puts a lot of thought into my gifts, and they’re always personal so I couldn’t possibly pick.

What would be your dream place to visit during the holiday season?

I don’t even need to give this a second thought. NEW YORK. I would love to go there for like a 5 day trip during the holiday season one year, it’d be like in the movies and all Christmassy and full of lights, and I’d walk around Central Park all wrapped up, ugh it’d be a complete dream.

Are you a pro-present wrapper, or do you fail miserably?

I’d give myself a 10 out of 10 for wrapping, it’s one of the things I love doing before Christmas, it gets me more excited and I love looking at the presents all wrapped up underneath the tree and being like “I done that.” Although tonight I done some wrapping after a few cocktails and it wasn’t up to my usual standard.

Most memorable holiday moment?

When I was a kid mum bought me a bike for Christmas because that was one of the things on my wish-list, but rather than have it out with my presents she left it in the kitchen. At some point she asked me to go get her a drink in the kitchen (that was so I would go in and be like OMG THERE’S A BIKE IN THE KITCHEN MUM) but totally oblivious me went and got the drink and didn’t even notice the large pink bike right in front of my face.

What made you realise the truth about Santa?

Just everyone in school talking and then you come to realise the dream isn’t real, which is sad, but my mum still continued to tell me he was real. I won’t lie, I’m 21 and she still tries to say he’s real, it’s quite cute actually. There’s nothing I love more than talking to kids about Santa and keeping the story alive, I wish my little sister hadn’t of grown up so quick.

Do you make New Years resolutions? Do you stick to them?

I do, I’m not sure I know anyone who doesn’t make New Years resolutions. I usually stick to them for a wee while and then fall back into my old habits, I’m sure the same can be said for many people, it’s hard. Any resolutions I make for 2017 I will try my very hardest to stick to this time, but we’ll see.

What makes the holidays special for you?

Just noticing a change in everyone’s moods, everyone always seems that little bit more happier and joyful, and we all come together to celebrate the holiday. I appreciate all the little things, like Christmas lights and decorations, carol singing, the Salvation Army playing on the streets, hot drinks on a cold day. Just spending quality time with those who matter the most, that’s what truly matters.

What’s your favourite things about Christmas?

5 thoughts on “The Christmas Tag

Leave a Reply

