Nippon Kitchen

When you’ve had a stressful week, there’s no better ‘pick me up’ than a mate date involving some good food, and today done just the trick. After being in the library 9am till 4pm, it was time to get my head out of the books and go for some food with my lovely friend Saira. For ages she had been going on about a place called Nippon Kitchen for us to go to for dinner, but with uni taking over our lives time was tight so we could never arrange a time. With out final assignment being submitted this week, our dissertation presentation on Tuesday and exams starting next week, we managed to find a few hours to spare and headed for dinner.

Nippon Kitchen is a restaurant that serves Japanese cuisine, and if you’re a fussy eater like me don’t turn away as of yet. Due to me being extremely fussy when it comes to food, I had my observations, but trust me when I say, there’s something on the menu, even for people like me – and if you’d prefer a dish without a certain ingredient such as onions or carrots in the likes of my curry, then you simply let the staff know and they’re more than happy to alter your order.

I was so excited to study the menu and decide on my order, anything involving food excites me. For starters I chose the Yasai Korokke, which are sweet potato cakes fried in breadcrumbs with a Japanese fruity sauce and mayonnaise, and Saira went for the Vegetable Gyoza, which are little steamed dumplings filled with vegetables, alongside a dipping sauce. The sweet potato cakes were amazing, and I tried the vegetable gyoza and they were just as lovely and so full of flavour. Considering I’m not a fan of vegetables you would never have thought there were vegetables in the gyoza, it’s definitely something I’ll be ordering in the future. For my main I went for the Chicken Katsu Curry with potato and sticky rice, and I can’t even begin to explain how good it was. The portions were the perfect size, and even though I thought I was going to burst by the end of it, it was in the best way possible. The pictures don’t do the food justice, it’s one of those “have to be there and eating it for yourself” kind of moments in order to understand. At your table you only have chopsticks, so if you are a bit clueless as to how they function like I am then the staff are more than happy to give you cutlery (my next goal in life is to learn how to eat with chopsticks). When it comes to eating out, it’s not just about the quality of the food that makes us decide to go to a certain restaurant over another, price is equally important. The prices at Nippon Kitchen are reasonable, with my main and starter coming in at around £15, which was definitely worth it for a decent meal that I thoroughly enjoyed.

As well as the great food, I had great company, which made my night all the greater. There’s nothing better than a good catchup with a friend, especially one I’ve known since I was like 11. I’m definitely starting to broaden my food horizons by trying out new foods and restaurants like this, and I’m already nagging Saira about where we’re next going for dinner, typical. What’s your favourite kind of Japanese food?

4 thoughts on “Nippon Kitchen

Leave a Reply

