It’s a Lush Life

Believe it or not, it was only this Summer that I tried out Lush for the first time, and since then I’ve never looked back. I have trouble with my skin, and I can’t actually remember the last time my skin was ever clear. We all get the occasional pimple, the odd breakout from stress and so on, but my skin is just a daily spot zone (although touch wood it’s not been as bad recently as it has in the past – I’ve probably jinxed this now). Usually my skin is lumpy and bumpy, and only this year have my spots started to mark their territory, leaving my skin with little red marks and some scarring. This had led to concealer becoming the cement for my face, desperately trying to hide my skin but then giving it no room to breathe, which will only make it worse, I know. Anyway, I’ve spent exceeding amounts of money on skin products, ranging from Liz Earle to Clinique, you name it, and although these products result in improvements, after a while my skin becomes somewhat “resistant” to them, meaning I need to switch up my skincare routine.

I had never tried out Lush before because I instantly assumed all their things would irritate my extremely sensitive skin, but that’s clearly because I had an awful lack of knowledge on Lush. Anyway, one day in the Summer when my skin was frustrating the life out of me, I decided I was going to give it a try after doing some research on the wonderful world wide web. One thing about Lush is that the staff are super efficient in store, they’re always at your beckoning call and I’ll forever be grateful to the girl who helped me find the products that have come to be my favourite and are the stars of this post. Me being me expected to see amazing results after less than 24 hours of using the products (that’s not how it works Holly), but definitely once I got into a routine of using the products not only did I see changes in my skin, but my mum did too, so this post is dedicated to my favourite Lush products.

Tea Tree Water is a toner for cleansing and refreshing the skin, whether it’s oily, or dull it brings some life back into it by removing any dirt or bacteria that can block up the pores resulting in spots. The ingredients include tea tree, juniper berry and grapefruit waters, and with having quite oily skin, such ingredients help tackle that problem, making my skin feel fresh whilst getting rid of that “shiny” look. I’ll either spray it over my face or I’ll spray some on a cotton pad and then wipe my face, which also makes this product ideal for getting rid of any makeup that you may not have properly taken off. It’s priced at £4.50 for the 100g bottle or £8.50 for the 250g bottle, so I tried the 100g bottle for starters, but I definitely need to stock up on some more. I like putting this on in the evening because it’s really refreshing applying it before I go to sleep.

Next is Herbalism, and this is a cleanser that works to clean the skin through the removal of dirt and oil. I won’t go into too much detail with the ingredients for each product, as they are all fully stated on the website, but just to give you a rough idea, its ingredients include nettles, rosemary and rice vinegar extract, rice bran, ground almonds, rose absolute, and so on. You mix this product with water and then rub into your face, and I feel like this 100% cleanses my skin through the ingredients that are used. This is priced at £7.25 for 100g, or £18.10 for 250g, and again I went for the smaller size, as I like switching up my cleansers every so often, especially because Lush have so many to choose from. The smell is strange, but that doesn’t put me off, after all it’s resulting in noticeable differences in my skin.

Another cleanser I really like is Aqua Marina, and this was actually the first cleanser I tried from Lush. This has the likes of fine sea salt, sea weed, irish moss gel, and kaolin in the product, and I love the fact it has sea salt and sea weed in it, as I feel like this really cleanses the skin and helps take the redness out of my spots. The sea salt also allows for exfoliation, and I really like the texture of the product on my skin. Out of Aqua Marina and Herbalism, Aqua Marina is definitely my favourite. As I already said, my favourite thing about this, is that for me it’s really good for getting rid of any redness I’m experiencing. Again prices are £7.25 (100g), or £18.20 (250g).

Now you can’t have a proper skincare routine without some decent moisturiser, and this can be a little bit pricey coming in at £14.95 (45g), but it was definitely the moisturiser for me so I don’t mind paying that amount. Lush can be really good at letting you try products in store or even giving you a miniature sample to take home and try, and they were lovely enough to give me a sample of this moisturiser to try out, rather than going straight in and buying the full-sized product. With my skin, moisturisers can make my skin more prone to oiliness, but this worked miracles, reducing oiliness as well as adding some brightness to my skin. It also smells really nice, which is a bonus because we all love a nice smelling product. The only thing with this is that I feel like I went through it super quickly, but that might be because I put always tend to put excessive amounts of moisturiser on my skin.

Face masks are a a little Lush luxury, when every so often you smother your face with a decent amount of the mask, sit back and relax until your face stiffens to the point where you are as expressionless as a brick wall. I’ve tried out two face masks from Lush: Mask of Magnaminty and Cosmetic Warrior. My first Lush face mask was Cosmetic Warrior and I won’t lie, I was a bit taken aback by the fact one of its ingredients was fresh garlic. I automatically assumed I’d be smelling of garlic for days after, but I can put your mind at ease and reassure you that, that is not the case at all. Although it’s not the best smelling face mask, you don’t reek of garlic, and the mask itself does work wonders, again helping with redness that had been left behind by spots. I typically use a face mask once a week, and then maybe work it up to twice a week. With the cosmetic warrior face mask you need to keep it in the fridge, and it’s priced at £6.95 (75g).

Moving on to Mask of Magnaminty, I love the fact this is minty, it smells nice and feels really refreshing on the skin. Again, like the majority of the skin products on offer at Lush, it has antibacterial properties, and helps with fighting off those nasty spots. This face mask is £6.25 (125g), so you’re getting more for your money. I also chose the self-preserving face mask, so you don’t need to keep this hidden away in the fridge. Using this makes my skin feel a whole lot softer afterwards, bringing my skin back to slight “normalness”, something it hadn’t been used to prior to my experience with Lush.

I’m just going to put it out there that all these products discussed were recommended to me by the staff at Lush after I provided them with details about my skin and the types of issues I typically have with it. It might be that your skin is the complete opposite to mine and you suffer from dryness for example, so if you’re uncertain of what Lush products to try then definitely speak to a member of staff, they’ll gladly select items to match what you’re looking for, possibly letting you try them out in store or even giving you a sample to take home if you’re lucky enough. Lush is my little God send that has helped me feel more confident in my skin by taming my breakouts, but that’s not to say it fully prevents your breakouts, there’s no controlling hormones, it just helps with the harshness of them, keeping your skin clean and fresh. I’m looking forward to continuing purchasing from Lush and specifically trying out many more of their face masks. Have you tried Lush before, if so what are your favourite products, what do you recommend?

14 thoughts on “It’s a Lush Life

  1. charandtheweb says:

    Great reviews! Aqua Marina has intrigued me. I’m currently using a mix of Coalface, Mask of Magnaminty (I agree, it is amazing), Dark Angels and Tea Tree Toner. I love all of them and same as with you, Lush has absolutely transformed my skin. Definitely worth the investment. Looking forward to testing out new cleaners so I’ll be keeping an eye out for those two.

    Would you by any chance be interested in having some of your work shared/featured on Creators.co? I’d love to see more of this kind of content on the platform. Feel free to shoot me an e-mail (you can find my contact details on my blog) for more information. I’d love to expand on that. Hope to hear from you.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Rachel says:

    I love this!! So great and in detail. I don’t know if you’ve ever tried Ultrabland? But that’s another amazing one! It has honey in it which makes it self preserving and also has antibacterial properties in it as well as rose, so it is great for irritated skin! It leaves your skin soft and smooth instead of that horrible dry feeling you can get with cleansers. Would highly recommend as it is great for reducing spot size and redness, as well as softening your skin so it doesn’t get too dry!!

    I have written a couple of lush reviews on my blog, I would love if you could check them out and let me know what you think! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • adailydoseofholly says:

      Thank you so much, I appreciate it!! I’ve never tried that no, but after your great description you’ve persuaded me to try it out. I’ll be sure to head to Lush soon to buy some or even see if I can get my hands on a little sample. I will check them out 🙂 x

      Liked by 1 person

      • Rachel says:

        I have put up an informative review on ultrabland! Check it out and let me know what you think, hopefully it gives you all the info you are looking for! 🙂 x

        Like

Leave a Reply

