Here Comes The Bride

Despite the title, I’m not getting married, sorry to disappoint. Recently I came across a girl I went to school with looking for female models for a Bridal style photo-shoot as part of a college assessment. Usually when I see statuses like this on Facebook I skip past them, being too shy to even show my interest. I don’t know what made me change my mind this time around, but it seemed like a fun idea and something different to try out. Due to it being a bridal shoot it was all about the hair and make-up, so last Tuesday I turned up at the college for the hair trial feeling slightly out of place due to only being familiar with my own uni campus, but nonetheless curious as to what hairstyle Caitlin would go for.

We walked through the long corridors of what seemed like a maze of a building and entered the salon, where I sat down, was gowned up and let Caitlin organise all the tools she needed to tackle my long mane. She opted for a pinned up look with curls spilling down my back and a loose curl falling over my face. I was really impressed with the final outcome, especially considering make-up is her speciality, but they have to do hair alongside make-up for assessments.

Yesterday, was the actual assessment day with 2 hours dedicated to hair, 1 hour for make-up, and then 10 minutes with the photographer to get the shots. I don’t know how I managed to go bare-faced to the college, but I’m sure my skin appreciated the breathing space. We went for the same hair style as practised last week, minus the loose curl at the front, and with more height. I had the most beautiful little hairband sitting at the top of my head which made me feel like I was part of the Disney movie Frozen, as well as a beautiful hair piece that slid in like a comb at the back. Considering the length of my hair usually the curls just drop straight away but Caitlin somehow worked her magic.

15128656_10211321331580125_1968058515_n

Next was make-up and I’ve never had my makeup done professionally so I was looking forward to this the most. I can barely conceal a spot so a full face of make-up was a slight shock to the system, but I loved it. I also got to try out false eyelashes, so that was another first for me. Caitlin’s make-up skills were amazing, and considering the amount of lumps and bumps, and blemishes I have on my skin, she done a great job at hiding them. It’s a big thumbs up from me. After a long day I was last to do the shoot, and I was pretty anxious about what to do, how to hold myself, do I smile with my mouth or smile with my eyes? I’ve learned a lot from America’s Next Top Model about “smeyesing”. Anyway, the photographer put me at ease straight away, continuously providing me with poses, whether it be to look over my shoulder, look down to the floor, I was kept moving around, and despite my nerves I thoroughly enjoyed my experience. I was more worried about Caitlin’s reaction to the photos, after all it determines whether she passes or not. Despite my worry, she was over the moon with the outcome, and I’m pretty happy with how they turned out too considering I’ve never done anything like this before. It definitely took me out of my comfort zone, and I felt like a bridal princess for the day. Hopefully I’ll have more opportunities to do things like this in the future. 

7 thoughts on “Here Comes The Bride

Leave a Reply

