Where The Magic Happens

On Sunday our 2nd last day in Paris was spent in Disneyland, can you spend your day doing anything better? We got the train just after 9am to Marne La Vallee – Chessy and I couldn’t sit still on the 25 minute train journey there, I was so excited. Yes, I’d read countless blog posts on people’s Disneyland experience, watched numerous vlogs, and done quite a bit of research, but I still wasn’t quite sure what to expect or how I would react when I entered the park. We were both exhausted because the previous 2 days in Paris were non-stop but we knew that once we got there the magic would wake us up. After what seemed like forever on the train, everyone rushed off keen to explore Disneyland. We decided to do Disneyland Park  first as I was desperate to see the castle. We had to walk through the Disneyland hotel and it was so beautiful, I’d love to stay there one day if I visit again. Once our tickets had been scanned, we stepped onto Main Street and I’ll admit, I cried, everything was just so colourful, and everyone was just so happy. I was happy and I couldn’t wait to explore.

I loved how Sleeping Beauty’s castle was right at the very end of Main Street, it was so picturesque. First on my list was to get my hands on a pair of Minnie Mouse ears, so we headed to one of the stores and found a stand full of different types of ears, and despite the vast choice I ended up opting for the original Minnie Mouse ears. David got a pair of Mickey Mouse wizard ears, and I was so happy he was joining in on the magic too, he looked very cute in his ears, the Mickey to my Minnie you could say (cheesy I know). We spotted Donald Duck so decided to wait in line to meet him because the line didn’t seem too long. Another 40 minutes or so later we met him and he was adorable. I had a giant 21 badge attached to my dungaree dress and he kept pointing at it, he also showed off his muscles to me and I got a feel. I was literally acting like the biggest kid over meeting a Disney character, if that was me at the start of the day, how would I survive until 10 o’clock at night. If you’re planning on going to Disneyland, please research both park maps because that’s one thing I didn’t do, and for it being our first time we were a bit lost, so save yourself some time by getting a map.

We headed to Discoveryland and straight to Space Mountain. For anyone that doesn’t know, Space Mount is an indoor roller coaster and because we were completely unaware of what was in store for us, we were all the more terrified The queue was no more than 10 minutes and the ride ended up being my absolute favourite, at first I was screaming with fear but that then turned to screaming with excitement. Coming off the ride and seeing the pictures was hilarious because I always shut my eyes and screw my face up, I’m surprised they haven’t used any of my ride pictures in the hall of fame for worst ride photos possible. After more rides we made our way over to the front of the castle to watch Mickey’s Halloween Celebration Parade, it was amazing, and the music was so catchy that I’ve still had the song stuck in my head all week. The costumes, dance routines, and the characters were all just perfect.

We had fast passes for rides, which I highly recommend, it basically gives you a ticket with a time to come back at, however I do wish you could get multiple fast passes for rides, rather than having to wait till after a certain time before getting your next one. We stopped for lunch at Restaurant Hakuna Matata and both got chicken strips and Hakuna fries (they were my favourite). The staff wore traditional African clothing, and someone came round all the tables playing a drum, it really set the scene. After lunch we raced to make our fast pass time for the Indiana Jones ride, bad idea to go on a roller coaster with a 360 loop after eating, but we managed.

After our little Indiana Jones adventure, we went to Walt Disney Studios Park, and as soon as you walk in you literally feel like you’re part of a Hollywood blockbuster. The Hollywood Tower of Terror looked unreal, but we both had the fear so gave that a miss. We headed straight to Toy Story Playland because that’s my favourite movie. I loved all the rides and the set up here, you literally felt like you had been shrunk down into a miniature figure with all the giant toys and rides around you. The RC Racer was the most hilarious ride ever, David’s traumatised reaction had me in tears of laughter despite the fact I was terrified of the ride too. Rock n Roller Coaster starring Aerosmith is another ride not to be missed, I love music so combining that with a rollercoaster was a completely different experience. One thing I love about Disneyland is the fact that you’re not just waiting in a boring old queue, there’s always a story leading up to the ride or you’re walking through say a music studio or hall of fame like the Aerosmith ride. It’s not like your average funfair you get once a year back home. David was really keen on seeing the Stunt Show Spectacular so we done that, and I thought it’d just be your typical repetitive stunt show, but it was out of this world.

The rain dramatically changed late in the afternoon, what started off as blue skies, ended in tonnes of rain falling from the sky, leaving us soaked so we took that as our cue to grab dinner and get out of the cold. We chose Planet Hollywood and David ordered steak and chips, and I ordered the L.A. Lasagna. I’m not kidding, it was one of the best dinners I’ve had, it’s fried pasta tubes filled with ricotta cheese and beef bolognese sauce with a tomato basil and garlic cream sauce, it was definitely a twist to regular lasagne. Once we had filled ourselves to the brim we went back into Disneyland park to make the most of our last few hours, and because of the weather it was pretty quiet so we got on the rides without having to queue. After a few rides, we grabbed a hot chocolate and went to find a spot in front of the castle for the Disney Dreams finale at park closing time. This was the part I was most looking forward to, as I’ve seen pictures and videos of it and it looks unbelievable, but nothing could have prepared me for witnessing it with my very own eyes. I cried, again, Disney really knows how to pull at my heart strings. It was unreal – the fireworks, the lights, the atmosphere, Disneyland really is the most magical place on earth. I had the best day ever, and to end it like that was truly perfect. That’s what I love about Disneyland, there’s something for everyone, you don’t have to go just for the rides, there’s parades, shows, meeting characters, there’s so much more to it than the rides. I could walk around the parks all day and be completely content. My next goal is to visit Walt Disney World, Orlando, and Tokyo Disneyland, but that won’t be till I have kids one day.

3 thoughts on “Where The Magic Happens

  1. Jess Wen says:

    Disneyland Paris was my childhood! I just loved the shows and the rides and the atmosphere, and I think you’ve captured them all perfectly 🙂 I visited Disneyland Orlando a couple of years ago, and it was just magical ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

