Goodbye September, Hello Birthday Month!

It’s the last day of September, and I’ll be so glad to see the back of it, not because it was a bad month…more so because October is going to be an even better month. Quite possibly the best month of the year. I’m turning 21, which as exciting as it sounds, I’m also slightly terrified. I’ll no longer be halfway to 40, and I don’t know if I’m ready to adult yet. But, the celebrations that are occurring are making that 1 year age difference all the worthwhile. I’M OFF TO PARIS!

Basically, I didn’t want to spend my birthday in the country, I have the travel bug at the minute, and just want to book to go everywhere and anywhere (that’s if I had the money). Originally, Amsterdam was the place I had my hopes set on, but realistically I knew there was a good chance it wouldn’t happen because of university, money, and it being so last minute. Little did I know, my mum and boyfriend had been secretly planning something; all those secret calls, texts, and even meet ups, turned out to be them booking a trip for my 21st. I wasn’t actually meant to find out until the day before I leave, but mum being mum, she caved in. The big surprise, which is no longer a big surprise because mum spilled the beans, is that I’m off to Paris for 3 nights, but not only that, I’m going to Disneyland Paris!!! You probably just heard me gasp.

I’ve always dreamed of going to Disneyland, whether it be the one in Florida or Paris, it’s just something that’s always been on my bucket list, as is going to Paris, so I’m technically ticking two things off my bucket list at once. Anyway, having never been to Disneyland before, and with me just about to turn 21, I thought that if I hadn’t been now then I probably wouldn’t ever get to Disneyland until I have kids of my own, but guess what? It’s happening. I literally feel like a kid that’s just woken up on Christmas morning to find that Santa’s been. I’ve not once stopped thinking about how magical the trip is going to be. I’ve not stopped watching people’s vlogs of their Disneyland trip, reading blog posts and guides to Paris, and brushing up on my very poor French skills. When I say it’s on my mind, it’s on my mind constantly, in fact it’s one of my motivations for getting through the pile of assignments I have due at university. The thought of seeing the Eiffel tower right in front of my very own eyes, walking alongside the River Sienne, meeting and greeting the Disney characters, stepping foot on Main Street, USA and watching the fireworks and lights erupt during the Disney Dreams finale when the park closes has me going crazy.

It’s 3 weeks today until I leave, and I’m already pre-planning my outfits, my Disney-themed nails, my poses for meeting Minnie and Mickey. I like to be organised, and in situations like this you have to be overly organised. It still seems surreal each time I realise it’s actually happening; it’s truly going to be one of the most memorable trips!

Leave a Reply

